Roasted Potato Soup

When I was growing up my Mom would make potato soup A LOT. This is not her exact recipe (I’m not sure she really has a recipe per-se) but I seem to be able to make a million different versions of potato soup because its part of my physical makeup. This soup has potatoes done three ways: pureed, chunky and roasted and is super duper yummy. Thanks Mom for nourishing me heart, soul and tummy! xoxo

Roasted Potato  Soup

3 Pounds Golden Potatoes Chopped

6 Cloves Garlic Chopped Coarsely

1 Large Onion Chopped

1 Cups Cream

32 oz Vegetable Stock

Pepper to taste

2 Teaspoons Salt

Saute onions in olive oil on medium heat until translucent. Add garlic and cook until fragrant and just starting to brown. Add stock and potatoes and bring to a soft boil. Boil for 10-15 minutes until potatoes are tender when pricked with a fork. Transfer half the mixture to a blender and mix until smooth. Return blended mixture back into pot and stir. Add cream, salt and pepper.

Crispy Potato Topping

3-4 Golden Potatoes cut in long wedges

6 Cloves Garlic Minced

1 Tablespoons chopped Rosemary

4 Tablespoons Butter

½ Teaspoons Salt

Pepper to Taste

Melt butter in a pan. Add rosemary and garlic. Drizzle over wedged potatoes and mix thoroughly. Place potatoes on a pan uniformly so each side touches the pan and is able to brown.

Bake at 400 degrees for 30 minutes on one side. Take out and flip potatoes over. Continue cooking for an additional 10 minutes on the other side. Once cool enough chop wedges into small pieces and sprinkle on top of soup. Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Roasted Potato Soup

  1. Great sounding recipe. I make potato soup for special family dinners with my famous sweet dinner rolls. My kids eat all the rolls before the soup!
    Good luck with the blog…. like the look. I will definitely follow :-)

    Paul

  2. Looks and sounds wonderful. I am going to make this for a small dinner party next weekend. I know it will be great! Thank you for sharing.

  3. Tried the potato soup recipe this evening – yummy! I had to substitute half-and-half for the cream, but it still came out alright. Next time I’m going to try it with unsweetened almond milk for a vegan version. The roasted potatoes on top makes this EXTRA good!

  4. Pingback: Here it goes! | thesiriuslife

Leave a Reply

