Ceasar Salad with Homemade Croutons & Dressing


I’m kind of a salad fanatic. I LOVE salad. My husband is more of an obligatory salad eater. He always says things to me like, “Good job making a salad honey” like I was trying to be proactive about our health. Really, I just think salads are refreshing and yummy. Especially when making homemade salad dressing and croutons, I think it takes it over the top. This salad I was bringing to a potluck dinner and was running late so I didn’t have time to take the final shot of the put together product. So I grabbed my camera and took it to the house and was like, “Wait, I have to take a picture before we eat!” I think the hostess thought I was nuts because the next time we had a group dinner and I brought something she said, “What, your not going to take a picture first?” Sorry people, I know I’m weird. I’m sure it seemed very self important for me to stop everything to take this picture. I hope it was worth it and from now on let it be known that if your having dinner with me – I will be taking pictures. Done.

Ceasar Salad with Homemade Croutons

Ingredients:

2-3 heads romaine lettuce, washed and chopped

Dressing:

juice of one lemon

¾ teaspoon dijon mustard

¾ teaspoon worcestershire sauce

1 garlic clove

½ teaspoon black pepper

¼ cup mayonnaise

½ cup vegetable oil

¼ cup fresh grated parmesan

2 anchovy filets

For Homemade Croutons:

1 loaf ciabatta bread cubed

olive oil

salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

To make the croutons, place the cubed bread into a large mixing bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Using clean hands toss the bread until its evenly covered with the oil (but not soaked). Season with salt & pepper and toss one more time. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Turn bread with spatula once during baking to get all sides evenly browned. Set aside.

For dressing, put garlic clove into a food processor and pulse for a few seconds until minced. Add the rest of the ingredients and pulse until combined.

Place washed lettuce into a large salad bowl. Add croutons and dressing. Toss and serve!

2 thoughts on “Ceasar Salad with Homemade Croutons & Dressing

Leave a Reply

