Tupelo Junction (Santa Barbara Restaurant Review)

vanilla_bean_french_toast

Okay, this pictures is making me so hungry for Tupelo Junctions vanilla bean french toast that I’m actually going to stop writing and go eat something yummy so I can get through this post…

I’m back and I made chocolate protein pancakes which were gross but at least I’m not starving…. (I’m doing a boot camp at the gym where I have to eat a lot of protein and I didn’t use a recipe…so there you go.)

Anyway…Tupelo Junction is one of the best freaking places to eat in Santa Barbara, no joke. The morning after we moved back to Santa Barbara in March of 2010 we walked down to Tupelo to celebrate. And we felt like we had made one big journey home. This place is BOMB. Its southern comfort food that hits you on all cylinders. Above is the vanilla bean french toast sitting in a pool of raspberry puree and topped with whipped cream. Its like biting into a slice of heaven with paradise on the side. The crunchy crispy grilled bread with the soft center swimming in sweet deliciousness is to die for. Michael gets it pretty much every time since he is the worlds biggest sweet tooth. I usually opt for the savoring options…

red_beans_with_rice

The red beans and rice with spinach, tomatoes and corn taunted me for years. But I just couldn’t stop ordering my favorite pulled pork sandwich. Finally I got up the nerve to order it and MAN its good! At first glance that combination just didn’t seem like it would be all that great but goodness me they know how to build depth of flavor. Its now my favorite thing to get there.

Other must try items:

Fried Green Tomatoes with Dill Dipping Sauce

Pulled Pork Sandwich with Fried Pickles on the Side

Fried Chicken Salad with Cranberries and Pumpkin Seeds

So if you are in Santa Barbara you HAVE to go (and make sure you call me so I have an excuse to go too!)

Leave a Reply

