Lunch at Julienne (Santa Barbara Restaurant Review)

pulled_pork_sandwich

Pulled Pork Sandwich

blue_cheese_burger

Blue Cheese Burger

julienne_restaurant_santa_barbara

My friend Joy and I go out to lunch about once a year. Joy is a wedding coordinator in town so we communicate and see each other a lot at events and other industry gatherings. Other than that we usually only spend time together once a year for lunch and this year Joy suggested Julienne. I had walked past the restaurant for years but never actually tried it due to my small fear of new restaurants. (My mind is like, “What if its not good and I could have just eaten some place I know and like!?”) Thankfully Joy suggested this gateway lunch and it was great! I had the Pulled Pork Sandwich and Joy had the Blue Cheese Burger. Both were delicioso and I really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Evidently the restaurant is owned by a husband/wife team that started in 2008 despite all the economic turmoil that was going on at the time. They are located on the corner of Santa Barbara and Canon Perdido in downtown Santa Barbara.  I was also impressed that their menu is made up of local and sustainable ingredients. They didn’t even serve diet coke which I wasn’t a huge fan of but I respected their dedication to keeping it natural. (They did have those natural sugar coca colas in the glass bottle so I had that instead….) I like that they are directly across from the Royal Presidio which is a historical landmark and a cool structure. It gives the diner a nice view to look at.

I have yet to go to Julienne for dinner but I’m confident that the “offerings” will be just as tasty and enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

