Looking back after 9 Years of Marriage

Nine years ago yesterday I married my darling-love-of-my-life Michael. You know, its funny to look back on that day because I remember being happy and in love but I was also young and making a huge life decision.  I was crossing my fingers I was making the right choice.  Its wasn’t that I didn’t know what I was doing, it was just that I had never been married before and didn’t know what to expect.  I made my decision based on Michael’s character and my hunch that he was going to turn out to be an A+ husband. But we were really young and inexperienced in life and so we had nothing to go off of except for faith and trust. I was 22 and Michael was 25 and we were just finishing up college at the time. Michael had spent 4 years in the Navy and when we met he was 6 month out of the Navy and 6 months into his college education at Brooks Institute of Photography. So here I was, a 22 year old making a huge life decision and even though I was madly in love with Michael I still felt a little bit of what I’d imagine people feel when they jump out of the airplane when skydiving. Like, “This is fun, scary and I hope it works out!”

So now nine years later its unbelievable to me that the decision that I made to marry Michael has turned into not only a successful marriage but a truly beautiful life beyond anything I could have ever imagined. God and my subconscious self knew way better than I did what I really needed in a life partner. I didn’t realize that I was attracted to Michael because he was a dreamer and a doer. He has the attitude that nothing in life will ever beat him and he had big goals for himself. I need that. I’m a big time dreamer too and I absolutely need to be with someone that fuels that in me. I didn’t realize that I needed someone that was a super romantic. Someone that knew the importance of taking time out to be together, to spoil each other with love notes, gifts and flowers. Someone that made ME a priority and someone that I could make as MY top priority. I didn’t realize that I needed someone that has the same interests as me and is creative and interesting to talk to. We seriously have the longest conversations about the silliest things sometimes (yesterday it was in great detail on the new Superman movie…) and never get bored with each other. I had no clue whatsoever that Michael would be the most attentive, excited and dedicated father. Sooooo attractive! And most importantly, I didn’t realize that Michael’s integrity, quest for good and perfect intentions would result in only good things. I didn’t realize the lottery ticket I was sitting on.

What I did realize at the time was that Michael had a heart of gold. I had someone that when he made a mistake he would fix it and not do it again. I had someone that had motivation and the ability to accomplish things. And the most important thing, I had a man that I loved. This is what formulated my decision and I had a good idea that I was right but only time would tell. Over the years I’ve been slowly scratching off that lottery ticket and only finding that perfect numbers beneath.

In nine years we have accomplished so much together. We both graduated college, built a successful business, had a beautiful perfect baby girl and have grown closer together than ever before.

So happy 9th anniversary to my perfect man in the world. You are perfect for me and as you always say, “We were made from the same batch.” I love you darling!

6 thoughts on “Looking back after 9 Years of Marriage

  1. What a beautiful tribute to what God wants marriage to be. Your Michael sounds wonderful and the fact you feel those emotions and feelings for him tell me you must be pretty amazing yourself. I pray God continues to bless you both. This world needs more great marriage role models, and definitely more wonderful good and loving men! Maggie

Leave a Reply

