An Indulgent Post about my Baby Girl

*I wrote this about a year ago and never posted it. I just found it and wanted to share. Amazing to read past thoughts… 😉

princess_party_guest_toddler

Like most Moms, I’m totally obsessed with my baby girl. I had no idea when I got pregnant with Georgiana that I was about to meet the most beautiful, amazing and special little girl on the planet. It really is true that your kids are the light of your life and Georgiana is no exception. How is it possible that every morning when she wakes up I just can’t believe that this perfect little soul is all mine?  What you don’t know before you have a baby is that your heart is still not fully mature until you have a baby of your own. Then suddenly you heart magically grows twice the size and you feel its warmth beating steadily for your baby all day long. And the love you had for your husband grows stronger too as you see his full potential shine through in all he does as a father. My Grandpa Ozzy once said to me that when he see’s a young couple go from being childless to a family it gives him joy. It was because he felt that until you have kids the marriage relationship wasn’t truly fulfilled. I now know what he meant. Its not that I love Michael more now magically, but we have more love to share than we could ever have had before.

The innocents and perfection of a child is an exquisite and precious thing to be around on a daily basis. To see Georgiana’s eyes light up for the smallest things is so incredible to witness. Its like she’s showing me how amazing life is all around me that I haven’t noticed in awhile. Her love of dancing to whatever music she hears (including the bells chiming at the courthouse downtown) teaches me to dance with her as well. Having a child is amazing because if I was out at the courthouse dancing by myself people might think I’m homeless. But to have the excuse to dance at any moment while I’m with her gives me a great sense of freedom. To see her get excited about the smallest thing like a Squirmel (little fuzzy worm with a piece of thread attached to its nose) is sometimes too much to handle. She squeals with delight and even demands to snuggle with it during her nap. Her little teeth are slightly spaced apart and her blonde hair and her pointy ears makes her look like a little impish fairy elf. I just want to gobble her up on a minute by minute basis. At night after I’m exhausted and she has gone to bed, its usually only an hour or so before I miss her and have to go creepily stare at her while she sleeps. Sometimes when she wakes up when she isn’t suppose to I’m secretly happy so I can snuggle with her again. Its like a bonus.

After reading this you are probably thinking that I’m over glamorizing motherhood and that I’m conveniently not putting in the crazy moments. Well, I do have crazy moments. But in my opinion, anything that is worth it is hard. Losing weight is hard. Flossing your teeth regularly is hard. Working is hard. Marriage is hard. Motherhood is hard. But you know what is harder? Being a single, toothless, obese homeless person with no children. That’s REALLY hard.  Children are the best.

Leave a Reply

