Bacon Fig & Gorgonzola Burger

bacon_fig_gorgonzola_burger

Michael and I went to a restaurant in town called Eureka’s for lunch one day and that is what inspired this recipe.  Eureka’s specialized in gourmet burgers and is absolutely delicious. I ordered their Fig Marmalade Burger (which I’m still not sure why the fig spread is called a “marmalade.” I thought marmalades were made of citrus fruit with a peel…) and loved the sweet fig and bacon combination. I revised it a bit by doing gorgonzola instead of goat cheese so there was more of a “bite” to it. I’ve now made it 4 or 5 times and twice for dinner parties. Its easy, delicious and definitely a crowd pleaser.  Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients: Serves 4

4 hamburger patties

4 hamburger bun

1 cup crumbled gorgonzola

fig jam

8 strips of bacon cooked crisp

arugula

Directions:

Grill burger patties on a outdoor grill until you’ve reached desired doneness. Spread fig jam on both the top and bottom of the bun. Layer in the burger, gorgonzola, bacon and arugula. Serve and enjoy!

One thought on “Bacon Fig & Gorgonzola Burger

Leave a comment